In a simple moment


The touch of your skin 

Pops under the palm of my hand, 

Like the sweet from my childhood 

Covered in sherbet popping in my mouth.
Magical, 

Whimsical, 

Simple

That’s what I feel right now.
Peacefully 

Your head 

Nestling closer to my chest

Just because you feel safe there, 
I wonder 

What thoughts are running through 

Your mind while you lay

Your eyes closed and your body at rest.
I wonder if those thoughts 

Are about me, 

Then a sweet content smile 

Lightens your face 
While the tips of my fingers 

Run affectionately through your hair filling me with warm fluttering feelings

Sound asleep 
I think about the walls I put up

And how I allow myself to be 

Completely vulnerable 

Naturally.
You ease my overactive 

Imagination 

That sometimes takes me to 

A place of worry.
That smile 

In that moment answers 

Questions I often think of

Putting my mind to rest, 
Because I realise that

Even though I have 

Insecurities that pop up

I must remember, 
I am simply a man 

Embracing an adventure 

I am excited to see 

Where it takes us…

Leave a Reply

