You ran off with my heart and I want it back

image

I find myself staring
At the memory of you
Tears rolling down my face
Overwhelmed by the reality

You are no longer,
My first real
Unfeigned love
Meant to be my greatest.

Sent to restore
The scratches
And the cracks
Of a mishandled heart,

Instead you
Gently took it in the palm of your hand,
Held it to the sunlight
Kept it warm at night

Just to crush it.
Like it meant nothing to you,
Like I meant nothing to you.
Why?

Why make me believe
In pure untainted love
If you never intended to make it
Last forever?

Or was it me?
Was it me who wronged you?
If so was this revenge
To ease your bruised state?

Did you feel
I did not love you
The way I was meant too?
Look at the mess you left behind,

Anger is not what I feel,
Neither is regret
Or hope
I simply feel aching pain

Covering every inch of my body
Deep within my soul
Look at what you did,
Does my suffering comfort you?

I thought you were my forever
But like a thief in the dead of night
You ran off with my heart
And I want it back…

2 thoughts on “You ran off with my heart and I want it back

Leave a Reply

