Alcoholic tendencies

Like an alcoholic seduced by the high,
Drawn in by the transient joy,
Waking up to the reality,
A vicious circle.

I am taken from pure bliss to the piercing logic,
I know that this escape of content cannot last,
My past has shown me this,
But I continue to use this feeling to escape.

Is it possible I am comparing this to previous malt that captivated me with such heavenly wonder?
Is it possible I have mistaken the taste and assumed the similarity?
Is it possible I am condemning a true love because of deep rooting hurt?
On the other hand,

This new brand may taste so different on my lips,
But I am well aware of the affects,
I have been through this fire,
That offers me warmth, yet only wishes to consume me,

I don’t know if I can do it,
I don’t know if I can go through this endless maze again,
I don’t think I can,
Do I leave to find a different escape, before this one destroys me?

2 thoughts on “Alcoholic tendencies

Leave a Reply

