My Depression Is Nothing To Be Ashamed Of

I am not ashamed of my depression,

I may have felt overwhelmed by it,

When it sunk me to a pit of despair and trapped me there,

A prisoner held by my own evil,

Covered in darkness with no comforting flicker of light,

Alone with the fear numbing my soul,

But it has not defined me,

It has not ruled me,

And it was not the end of me,

With strength as my sword, hope as my shield I battled the blackness,

And walked through the bellies of the beasts that tormented me,

Victorious,

I did not wither away and give up,

I continued steadfastly, determined to survive,

I am grateful for this phase of my life because I have overcome it and I would not be the person I am today without it,

It showed me the strength that was embedded within me,

The creative power that flowed through me,

But most importantly it showed me who I am and that is something that can never be taken from me by anyone,

So I say this with conviction and strength in my voice,

My depression is nothing for me to be ashamed of…

7 thoughts on “My Depression Is Nothing To Be Ashamed Of

  1. Kahlil Gibran once said, “Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars.”

    Keep the faith, Matthew. wish you much happiness and health!

    Like

Leave a Reply

