Forever Changing: I’m Fighting For Me

Your very presence has become draining to me,

I have served you loyally,

I have served you blindly, for years,

When I try to move forward,

You only bring me backward,

Why have I done this to myself for all these years?

Why have I let you control me for all this time?

I can’t breathe,

When I wake up in the morning, you’re there,

When I go to sleep at night, you’re there,

My time away from you confined in the four walls of my grey office is my only escape,

I have alienated myself from the ones that loved me before you came along,

So if I left you would I be alone?

Have I become so dependent on you that I don’t know how to stand on my own?

What have you done to me?

Enough,

Enough is the word I will use,

The word I will use to free myself from you,

Because you are poison to me and I have had enough,

I need to fight for myself,

I am tired and I have given you enough of me…

One thought on “Forever Changing: I’m Fighting For Me

  1. I choose to look after me, myself and I first…. You have to be happy with yourself first…. That took me 33 years to learn…. Rather late than never!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

